Fort Collins Connexion

Introducing Fort Collins Connexion

Fort Collins Connexion is our new community-owned fiber network!

Fort Collins Connexion is bringing gigabit-speed internet, digital phone, and advanced video services to all residents and businesses of Fort Collins.


Latest News

Fort Collins Connexion is live!

Fort Collins Connexion officially launched on August 29, 2019. Connexion continues to light up new neighborhoods on a weekly basis. The Connexion team will notify residents and businesses directly as soon as service is available to order.

  1. Sales Door Hanger - Unless you have a no soliciting sign, you will receive a sales door hanger notifying you that service is available.
  2. Email - You will receive an email notification (if we have a valid email address on file.) Visit fcconnexion.com/residential to register!
  3. Postcard - We will mail a postcard to your home address.


How Do I Sign Up?

Once you are notified directly that service is available at your residence or business, you can call Customer Care at 970-212-2900 or go to fcconnexion.com to sign up and schedule your installation.


Construction

Full network construction is ongoing. Residents can expect to see City crews along with the City approved contractor, Atlantic Engineering Group (AEG), installing fiber in neighborhoods around Fort Collins. Full build-out to the entire city limits will take the next 36 to 48 months.

If you have questions or concerns about construction in your neighborhood, including sprinklers and lawn restoration, please call 970-674-7800 or email FCResidents@aeg.cc

To stay up to speed (pun intended!) on this project REGISTER here. Once registered you can also ask questions in the Q&A tab and drop a pin on the PLACES MAP showing us where you would like City broadband service.

To learn more about the history of this project visit fcconnexion.com/background.


Introducing Fort Collins Connexion

Fort Collins Connexion is our new community-owned fiber network!

Fort Collins Connexion is bringing gigabit-speed internet, digital phone, and advanced video services to all residents and businesses of Fort Collins.


Latest News

Fort Collins Connexion is live!

Fort Collins Connexion officially launched on August 29, 2019. Connexion continues to light up new neighborhoods on a weekly basis. The Connexion team will notify residents and businesses directly as soon as service is available to order.

  1. Sales Door Hanger - Unless you have a no soliciting sign, you will receive a sales door hanger notifying you that service is available.
  2. Email - You will receive an email notification (if we have a valid email address on file.) Visit fcconnexion.com/residential to register!
  3. Postcard - We will mail a postcard to your home address.


How Do I Sign Up?

Once you are notified directly that service is available at your residence or business, you can call Customer Care at 970-212-2900 or go to fcconnexion.com to sign up and schedule your installation.


Construction

Full network construction is ongoing. Residents can expect to see City crews along with the City approved contractor, Atlantic Engineering Group (AEG), installing fiber in neighborhoods around Fort Collins. Full build-out to the entire city limits will take the next 36 to 48 months.

If you have questions or concerns about construction in your neighborhood, including sprinklers and lawn restoration, please call 970-674-7800 or email FCResidents@aeg.cc

To stay up to speed (pun intended!) on this project REGISTER here. Once registered you can also ask questions in the Q&A tab and drop a pin on the PLACES MAP showing us where you would like City broadband service.

To learn more about the history of this project visit fcconnexion.com/background.


If you have questions about broadband, please ask them below! A member of the City Broadband team will post a response to your question as soon as possible.

Q&A

Ajax loader transparent
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password. Forgot your password? Create a new one now.
  • Is the neighborhood in Prospect and Larch St expected to be wired with your fiber? Near overland trail. Thanks!

    cchacon asked 6 days ago

    As long as the area is within City Limits, service will be available to residents living in Prospect & Larch St. 

  • My question is about a TV box. In a previous answer you said that you could rent a TV box for $15/month. Is it possible to use a 3rd party box or can we purchase a box from the city? Any discount if you rent more than 1 box? Do you have an ETA when you will have the channel lineups for each package as well as pricing?

    zspot asked 1 day ago

    Thank you for your questions regarding Connexion TV.  


    Keep in mind you are not required to rent a set-top box to use Connexion TV - the service is app-based and will work with any Android TV or device, Apple TV or device, Chromecast, Amazon Fire TV or Firestick. If you prefer the set-top box experience, you will need to use the Connexion box as it is programmed to work with the video application.  At launch, we will only be renting the device, and similar to other video provides, will not have a discount for more than 1 box.  We will  have the channel line ups and pricing available when we launch in early December.  

  • We live in an area where the HOA/developer built the homes on a private street. Does that impact the city's ability to deploy broadband to our area? It's my understanding that the legal requirements of a private street is that we're required to maintain the street but the public has full access to the street, which sounds like that should not be a barrier to installation.

    hsam869 asked 24 days ago

    The Fort Collins Connexion team most likely will have to work directly with your HOA management to get access to the private street for installing our network.  We have an Account Manager on staff who is the point person to work with your HOA on this process. So as we move into your area, we will be reaching out to them.  

  • Do you have a basic price plan for residential services?

    ladybird asked 15 days ago

    You can view pricing on our website at fcconnexion.com

  • Im in Old Town on the corner of Grant and Olive. can I sign up now?

    Walter asked 27 days ago

    We will notify you directly as soon as service is available to order at your home.

    Once construction has been successfully completed and released for go-live, you will receive a door hanger (unless you have a no soliciting sign) an email and a direct mail letter.  To ensure you received email notifications, visit fcconnexion.com/residential and complete the form at the bottom of the page. 

  • Looks like all the underground work is done in my neighborhood (Quail Hollow). When can I expect to be notified that I can connect?

    chapspeed asked 25 days ago

    Once construction has been fully completed, the fiber has been tested and released by Outside Plant, You will be notified with a sales door hanger that service is now available to order.  If you have a no soliciting sign on your property you will not receive a door hanger but will get an email (if we have a valid email on file) as well as a direct mail letter. To sign up for email notification, visit fcconnexion.com/residential and fill out the form at the bottom of the page.  

  • When do you expect the low income rates to be available?

    Linkyy asked 28 days ago

    Thanks for your question. Details for the low income qualified rate are still being finalized pending Council’s approval.

    ·  First Reading happend this week on October 15, 2019; Second Reading for November 5, 2019.

    ·  If approved, a Digital Equity income-qualified rate will take effect January 2020.

  • Can you share some information regarding how many homes have been connected so far? In August you said you would be getting up to a few hundred new households per month. How many connections are there so far and what is your current build out rate?

    clorange asked about 1 month ago

    We are rolling out service in a controlled ramp-up - targeting portions of neighborhoods and turning on homes weekly.  At this time we are not publishing our connection numbers but we continue to add new customers every week.

  • Is the Timber Ridge mobile home park (corner of Taft Hill Rd and Horsetooth) going to get connexion service? It is currently in county and not city as I understand it. I have asked the Timber Ridge people in their on site office, and the only thing they tell me is that they are talking to the city about it.

    maal61748 asked about 1 month ago

    Unfortunately, there are no current plans to serve a this time. If the area is annexed into City limits, we will then work to bring broadband services to Timber Ridge.

  • Will I need a new or better modem to fully take advantage of the advertised speeds?

    ajcohen88 asked about 1 month ago

    When you order Connexion Internet you will have a state-of-the-art modem included as part of your service to ensure you are able to enjoy the fastest internet speeds available.  

  • What if I don’t want connection contractors tearing up my property? Ive already seen severe damage left in their wake.

    Jeff64 asked about 1 month ago

    All of the work that is being conducted by the Connexion crews is occurring in the public right of way.  This city-owned strip of land which may include curbs, sidewalks, and utilities allows the city to build and maintain the street, curb and gutter, storm sewers and possibly underground utilities. This land is the responsibility of the landowner but the city has the right to determine what takes place there. The goal of the crews is to be as minimally invasive as possible when installing conduit and possibly small vaults. For immediate assistance with any Connexion construction issues in your neighborhood, including questions or concerns regarding sprinkler systems or resodding, please call 970-674-7800 or email FCResidents@aeg.cc.

  • Can you please clarify? Are you going to install mini-cell transceiver boxes on light poles and telephone poles or attach wired interface boxed to outside of homes like in Denver? If so, do we have any say on how they look?

    Artemus asked about 1 month ago

    Fort Collins Connexion's fiber-optic network is all underground so we will not be installing anything on light or telephone poles.  When a customer signs up for service, part of the installation process includes bringing fiber from the street to the side of the home, terminating in a network interface device (small box).  The box was selected by our Outside Plant Team for its small footprint.  Placement typically follows the same path as electric but there are situations where installers may place in a different location.  Customers certainly may discuss placement with their installer.  

  • For a package that includes TV service, are there additional equipment costs? For example, Comcast charges $6 for every TV connected. Also - where can we see a list of channels included with the Silver and Gold packages?

    Jim Mundo asked about 1 month ago

    The app-based TV product works with Android TV and devices, Apple TV and devices, Roku, Amazon Fire TV, Echo and Firestick, and Chromecast.  If you prefer a more traditional cable set up, you have to option to rent a set-top box monthly for $15, however, it is not required.  We will be publishing details on our packages including channel line ups as soon as contracts with the channel providers are finalized and service is available to order. 

  • Is there a map of Fort Collins with the rollout phases and the ETA for each phase? I'm just curious roughly when I should expect to receive the service.

    nutteddie asked about 1 month ago

    Due to the highly competitive nature of the Fort Collins marketplace, we are not publishing a rollout map.  We will be notifying residents directly when construction is coming into a neighborhood as well as when service is available to order. 

  • When will Connexion internet and TV be available in Buckingham neighborhood? (Directly nw of O'dells)

    Kmlefever asked about 1 month ago

    We do not have an ETA for Connexion service being live in the Buckingham neighborhood, but rest assured it is coming.  As soon as service is available to order, we will be placing sales door hangers on every home (as long as there is not a "no soliciting" sign) as well as sending an email and direct mailer to every home.

  • Will Connenexion run cable to my home? I'm within the city limits, South West Fort Collins on West Trilby Rd. City Precinct 55. No other cable/internet companies will run service to this area. My driveway is 100 feet long. Will Connexion run their fiber cable directly to my residence? ( Microduct?) Will homeowners living in rural areas pay more for installation? Or do without? We are serviced by REA Electric, so no City of Fort Collins Light and Power conduits to utilize. Thanks!

    Bob Collins asked about 2 months ago

    If your home is located within city limits, Fort Collins Connexion will provide internet service as part of the original build out plan which will take 2-3 years for full completion.  If you are outside the city limits, once the full build-out has been completed, we will be looking at opportunities to serve residences that were not originally included.  

  • Will phone service be offered?

    Me asked about 2 months ago

    Yes!  Fort Collins Connexion is providing phone service for residential and business.  You can view current residential home phone prices online at https://www.fcgov.com/connexion/residential-phone.  We will be posting business phone pricing soon!  

  • Will you be offering any lower speed tier for internet access at lower cost? Or offering qualified lower-income family packages? Its just my young son and I -and I don't think we need that kind of speed.

    emjack asked about 2 months ago

    Fort Collins Connexion will be launching a lower-income qualifying product - it will follow much of the same qualifiers as Fort Collins Utilities services.  We are still finalizing details and will be bringing the proposed product to Council for input and recommendations for next steps soon.   

  • How much leeway is available in locating the service pedastal / entry point to the home? Will a homeowner get to choose the wall (front, back, side) or any internal routing of the fiber to the ONT to best match up with the home's internals? Ex: I might have a utility room in the basement on the back side of my home - that'd be the "natural" place to bring it in rather than the front of the home which is all bedrooms.

    philmjmills asked about 2 months ago

    The goal of the pre-install process is to ensure the best point of entry for our fiber.  If you have questions or concerns about the location, you can speak with the Customer Service Representative when you schedule your install.  The rep can relay this information to the installation team. You are not required, but are welcome to be home when the pre-install work is being done.  

  • Will Connexion be providing email services? I have a lot of accounts tied to my Comcast email address. It's going to be hard to convert over if I don't have a new email provider.

    dskbutler asked about 2 months ago

     Yes, Connexion will provide email as part of our internet service. 

  • Will Connexion eventually be available to Timnath residents?

    Ampagrau asked about 2 months ago

    Thank you for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion.  The planned build-out for broadband service is to Fort Collins city limits. Once the build-out has been completed (2-3 years), we will be looking at how we may be able to partner with neighboring towns and cities to bring additional broadband coverage to underserved areas. 

  • We live just west of Taft hill which is outside city limits. Will we be able to get internet?

    The Game asked 2 months ago

    Thank you for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion service.  The initial 2-3 year build-out will be just to city limits. Once completed, the Connexion team will be looking at ways to potentially service residents located outside city limits.  



  • I would really like to sign up, but since you are not providing even a rough estimate of a rollout map, I have to sign up with Xfinity again. Which means I have to sign another 1 year contract so I don't have to pay $100+/month for crappy internet. So, even if your flyer shows up tomorrow, I won't be able to sign up for another year now. Your refusal to help customers with any kind of plan is not only hurting us, it is losing revenue for you. It is totally understandable that you don't want to set high expectations then end up with irate customers if you can't meet that plan, but there is no reason you can't give a wide window (say 3 months) and/or provide a general path you will follow around the city.

    bstotts asked 2 months ago

    Thank you so much for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion service. We're sorry to hear that you are frustrated with our not providing a rollout plan or schedule.  There are reasons for this.  One, we have a 90-day rolling design plan for construction. This means that rather than designing the entire city build-out, we are working in various areas across the city--it allows our engineers and construction staff to be faster and more efficient. It also ensures no one specific area of the City is getting more attention than the other.  Second, due to the highly competitive marketplace, we are not providing a rollout map for Connexion. We will be directly notifying homeowners as soon as service is available to sign up and our goal is to continue to turn up neighborhoods as quickly and efficiently as possible.  There is also a form on our website https://www.fcconnexion.com/esidential that you can sign up to be notified for service availability.  

  • Will this service make it's way down to Loveland?

    johnkirch123 asked 2 months ago

    Actually, Loveland is providing its own broadband service!  It's called Pulse and will be coming soon!  You can learn more here: https://www.letstalkloveland.org/Pulse

  • when can i sign up and where do i sign up for the broadband service? I live on Bramblebush Street.

    JK asked 2 months ago

    We will be notifying you directly as soon as Connexion service is available in your neighborhood. We will place a sales door hanger (unless you have a no soliciting sign) as well as an email.  When you are notified, you can either call our customer service team at 970-212-2900 or visit us online at https://www.fcconnexion.com to review pricing and place an order.  Thank you very much for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion. We look forward to serving you in the future!

  • I’m so excited to for this service! As of now I love the lack of communication and how you can’t tell anyone if they will be eligible... the best I can find is “full roll out in 36-48 months”... why can’t you just say where service will be. Obviously you have a plan so why make the people renew contacts because the city can’t be more specific....

    Abercher asked 2 months ago

     Thank you so much for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion service. Due to the highly competitive marketplace we are in, we are not providing a rollout map for Connexion. We will be directly notifying homeowners as soon as service is available to sign up. There is also a form on our website https://www.fcconnexion.com/residential that you can sign up to be notified for service availability. 

  • I noticed that registering for an account includes submitting my social security number. Please explain why you are asking for this. Will I be able to sign up for Connexion without submitting my S.S. number? Thanks

    Jojo7 asked 2 months ago

    Good afternoon.  Fort Collins Utilities requires a social security # or another valid form of Identification when setting up a new account.  If you prefer to not provide your SS# when signing up for Connexion service, we recommend you call our Customer Care team to confirm what forms of ID are accepted. Thank you for your question!

  • Is there a map of the connexion service area, or a phasing map/gannt chart available? I'd love to know if and when service will become available in my neighborhood. This information will influence my plan to move at the end of the year.

    Smalls asked 3 months ago

     Thank you so much for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion service.  Due to the highly competitive marketplace we are in, we are not providing a rollout map for Connexion. We will be directly notifying homeowners as soon as service is available to sign up. There is also a form on our website https://www.fcconnexion.com/residential that you can sign up to be notified for service availability.  

  • Follow up on previous question: Why are the two internet RJ45 ports from the ONT? Can they be used for port aggregation or redundancy? Are the RJ45 ports 10GbE or 1GbE ethernet? A 10G service option was mentioned, does it use the same ONT device?

    drmulvihill asked 3 months ago

    Thanks so much for your interest in Connexion. We reached out to one of our tech support reps to help answer your question.  Here's what he had to say:

    "There are 4 RJ45’s (network) and 2 RJ11’s (phone) on our ONT.

    In the most basic sense, the 4 RJ45’s are there because that’s what the device comes with.  As to what all we CAN do with it, by default, it’s just a switch.  You can plug 4 ethernet cables in, just like any other router/modem combo.  They are 1GbE.  Port aggregation wouldn’t increase core functionality here as we’re offering a 1Gb connection; so combining two 1Gb ports to increase throughput on a 1Gb connection would still net you 1Gb.  Also, and more directly, that is not a feature supported on our ONT.

    The 10Gb service does in fact use a different ONT.  That unit has the same 2 RJ11 and 4 1GbE RJ45’s, but it also has an additional 10GbE RJ45.

    If we want to get SUPER technical… what I called an RJ11 is technically capable of taking up to an RJ12 connector which is a 6 pin standard.  BUT… we are only using 2 and 4 pin on the 1Gb and 10Gb ONT’s respectively, so there’s no particular reason to use an RJ12 connector unless that’s just what you happen to have handy."

    Hope this answers your questions! 


  • You launched! Congrats! Can we have a rollout map now?

    matt asked 3 months ago

    Thanks for the support! As we mentioned at the Launch Party last night, due to the highly competitive marketplace we are in, we are not providing a rollout map for Connexion. We will be directly notifying homeowners as soon as service is available to sign up.  

  • Our neighborhood was recently built with fiber to the pedestals. How quickly can we expect to be offered the city broadband services?

    Hdelmuro asked 3 months ago

    Hopefully your neighborhood will be ready to go soon!  We be notifying residents as soon as service is available to sign up for.  You will receive a door hanger as well as an email.  

  • If I switch to Connexion for my phone service will I be able to keep my existing phone number?

    reidshay asked 3 months ago

    Yes!  We will port your existing phone number free of charge!


  • Where can I find out if I’m eligible for Connexion?

    Brigperrin33 asked 3 months ago

    We are launching Connexion service this week to neighborhoods that have had construction fully completed.  We will be notifying residents directly via door hangers, emails and social media that they can sign up.  


    After launch, our new website will have a feature coming soon to allow customers to go in and see if service is available at their address.  You can also call and speak with one of our Customer Service Representatives at 970-212-2900. 

  • What kind of damage to yards, irrigation and landscaping can we expect during the install of cables? Where (specifically) will you be digging? How deep? What happens if you damage irrigation lines or landscape plants?

    ladyflag asked 3 months ago

    Our initial build into neighborhoods will involve installing cable in the public right of way. This easement is the city-owned strip of land from the edge of the street back about 3 to 10 feet. Its purpose is to allow the city to build and maintain the street, curb and gutter, storm sewers and possibly underground utilities.This land is the responsibility of the landowner but the city has the right to determine what takes place there. A right-of-way may include curbs, sidewalks, and utilities.  Cable installation may include a small vault or "flowerpot" where fiber is terminated.  These are all buried so they are flush with the ground (i.e. no above-ground equipment"). Cable is buried at least 12 feet below ground.  

    In the case where sprinkler lines are in the right of way and are accidentally cut, our vendor partner, AEG, will cover the repair free of charge. If grass is disturbed, crews will also lay new sod if necessary. 

  • Like a previous poster, I too am curious if there is an option to run fiber inside my home to my router rather than transitioning to CAT6 at a box on the side of my house. Your answer was that the standard demarcation would be an RJ-45 port off the ONT (I assume just 1, given that I have not heard of plans to deliver anything faster than 1000/1000), but did not answer whether there would be any other options. I am also curious whether a power outage means an internet outage, or if my internet connection will have battery backup in the necessary places to keep an active connection to my router in case of a power outage (assuming I have an UPS for my equipment).

    andrew_gouldey asked 7 months ago

    Fort Collins Connexion will be running fiber directly to the home and into the home.  There are four total RJ-45 ports on the ONT - 2 for internet and 2 for POTS (Plain old telephone). We are required to provide UPS option for phone service, but it is available for the ONT in case of a power outage. If you have the battery backup for ONT you will still have internet connection. 

  • Dear Staff: Will there be an activation fee for new service to "Connexions," and will I be able to continue using my VPN with the service? Thank you for your time!

    CATS_IN_THE_CRADLE asked 4 months ago

    Fort Collins Connexion will not be charging an activation fee.  You should be able to continue to use your VPN without any issues.

  • Will this service offer unlimited data use for subscribers, or will it continue the industry trend of implementing datacaps and overage fees similar to those used by Comcast?

    RKWHIT asked 3 months ago

    Fort Collins Connexion will not have data caps or overage fees. 

  • Will 10G fiber connections be available for a surcharge?

    kbaegis asked 3 months ago

    Connexion 10GB Internet will be available with monthly billing.  

  • It is now August, and we still don't have an idea when and where rollout will begin, or how much it costs. Can we please stop with hiding the information we all want and just let us know? Issues with the current provider continue on a daily basis and I want a real alternative, but the lack of information is giving me a lack of confidence in the upcoming Connexion system.

    Mudbug asked 3 months ago

    Thank you for your feedback. We will be announcing our pricing closer to our launch date at the end of the month, which kicks off with our Launch party on Thursday, August 29th.  We will be notifying residents directly as soon as service is available to order in their respective neighborhood.  

  • How will the connection come to the home, will it be coaxial cable or Ethernet?

    Vao1121 asked 4 months ago

    Connexion Broadband will bring fiber to the home and inside the home. Crews will be installing a network interface device (NID; also known by several other names) to the outside of the property. This device (a panel or box) serves as the demarcation point between our fiber network and the customer's premises wiring. The fiber will be brought into the home and connect to the Optical Network Termination (ONT)  - this is your modem/wireless router.  The ONT is included when you sign up for Connexion Internet.  If you have your own wireless device, you can connect it directly to the ONT. If you have CAT5e or CAT6 Ethernet wiring in the home, Connexion service will work with that.

  • The most recent "news" on FCC is as follows: Fort Collins' broadband project: Man who launched world's first 'gig city' to lead (External link) Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link 8 months ago Colman Keane launched Chattanooga, Tennessee's vaunted municipal broadband utility. He aims to bring the same success to Fort Collins. That is great, but you have us for $140+ and I think we should have some "recent" news, or at least some really significant updates since the "first customer" should be hooked up in a few days. What gives?

    brentreeves asked 4 months ago

    Hi Brent,

    You're right, we've been a bit behind on updating our news section.  As you can imagine, we have been extremely busy building the City's new fiber-optic network which launches in August.  Additionally, we're designing a new Connexion site, so there will be a lot of changes coming soon. Thanks for your patience. 

  • When will you publishing pricing? Also, is there anyway to have an idea of when the service will be available in our area? We were going to renew our contract with another service when we found out the city was getting a fiberoptic connection. We located at Mountain Ave. and Meldrum St.

    Abbie asked 4 months ago

    Thank you for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion.  We will be publishing pricing closer to our go live in August.   

    Unfortunately at this time I do not have specific information on when service will be available at your new apartment.  As mentioned, we're going live in August with a controlled ramp up for neighborhoods that have had construction completed, and our full build-out to city limits will take 36-48 months.  We sincerely look forward to serving you in the future.

  • Will the internet be installed on Westview Rd, south of Country Club Road (80524)? Not all of our street is in the city, however, the area from Blue Teal south on Westview is in the city. Subdivision is Pheasant Ridge. Our little area is often forgotten as being in the city (especially in snow storms) as we're out of the way, am hoping we'll be included for installation of the internet. Thanks.

    CLumar asked 4 months ago

    Thank you for your question.  This type of situation is always a bit complicated.  If a property on the street is considered "within city limits" it will be included in the initial rollout for Connexion service.  If it is not, once full build-out has been completed (36-48 months) the team will be looking at how to  provide service to those remaining properties.

  • When will you get to my area?

    Dkbrown169@gmail.com asked 4 months ago

    Crews are working in various locations across the city as part of our rolling construction build.  You will receive a door hanger notifying you that crews will begin work in your area.  We will begin turning on completed neighborhoods beginning in August. Full build out will be completed in 36 to 48 months.  

  • Reply email address: mb.resurrection@hushmail.me Dear Staff: Will there be a free trial on the internet service? I currently have Centurylink, and would like to compare the two. Thank you for your time! ~Michael~

    CATS_IN_THE_CRADLE asked 4 months ago

    Good morning Michael,

    we will not be offering a free trial period for Connexion service. However for residents and small businesses we will offer month to month service so you can try us out without being locked into a contract.  

  • Will subscribers be able to have email addresses from Connexion?

    Designer99 asked 5 months ago

    Yes! Each internet account will come with one email address.  Customers will have to option to purchase additional email addresses if needed. 

  • What equipment will I need to either (1) rent from Fort Collins Connexion, or (2) own myself for the gigabit service offering? Also, can Fort Collins connexion provide a list of recommended/compatible equipment for this service offering.

    Cifala asked 5 months ago

    Fort Collins Connexion will provide an optical network termination (ONT) device with your service that will be your router/modem and has wireless capabilities.  However, you also have the option to use your own devices to connect to the ONT.  We are not publishing a list of recommended equipment at this time however, you could certainly speak to a rep at a BestBuy or electronics store and they would be able to help you find a compatible device.  

  • I live in Skyline Mobile Home Park near Mulberry and Taft Hill. The park is owned by Sun Communities (large international corporation). Will the City provide service just to the edge of the park, or will it be provided to the park itself? Wondering if there is some infrastructure necessary on the Skyline property that the City provides or the park itself has to provide?

    cspiciarich asked 5 months ago

    Fiber installation will be based on whether the streets within the Skyline Community are private or not.  We will be installing to the entrance for sure. If the streets are private, we will have to get permission from Sun Communities to install in the community itself. If not, we will as a courtesy let the owners know that we will be installing and work with them to ensure it is a smooth process. We will be installing an entirely separate fiber network, so we will not need to work with any existing infrastructure.    


  • will our address be included in the buildout of high speed internet? 7734 Park Ridge Cir., Ft. Collins, Co 80528

    fabby asked 5 months ago

    According to a Larimer County property search, your address is outside the city limits.  So unfortunately for the initial build-out, it will not be included.

  • When do you expect to have a roll out map available?

    Erik Staubo asked 5 months ago

    We will not be publically releasing a formal plan or rollout map. This would provide the local incumbents with too much information. We will, however, be actively notifying businesses and residents as soon as services are available to order. 

  • With roughly a month to go, can we finally get the plan for release around town, and what the cost structure will be please?

    ReadyToDitchComcast asked 6 months ago

    While our official go-live date is August, we will still be actively involved in construction across the city and continuing to build out to city limits to meet out 36-48 month completion timeline.  We will not be publically releasing a formal plan--that provides the local incumbents with too much information. We will, however, be actively notifying businesses and residents as soon as services are available to order. Our Product catalog including pricing will be released closer to our August go-live.

  • Will the Terminal Access Point (TAP) support or come with an optical to coax converter? My present service comes in via an external coax connection to the house. If a converter is supported, then no additional wiring to my house would be required.

    tompmri asked 6 months ago

    Our fiber optic cables will terminate directly into the TAP or NID (Network Interface Device).  Upon installation, fiber will be brought into the home and connected to the Optical Network Device. There should be no need for a coax converter. We can connect with any Cat5 or CAT6 wiring in your home, and the ONT is wireless enabled.  

  • Assuming Connexion's success, I'd like to see Fort Collins become a center for the development of self-driving vehicles (SDVs). Budweiser has already begun the process with its Otto self-driving heavy truck demo some time ago, plus their more recent agreement to lease a very large number of hydrogen-fueled over-the-road heavy trucks from the Nikola Corporation. To be successful, self driving vehicles will have to be as aware of their environment as are human drivers (preferably much more so), requiring lidar scanning and ultra high resolution cameras to constantly view their surroundings in 360 degrees. Built-in artificial intelligence will be required to make instantaneous decisions based on this information. Knowledge of issues encountered by nearby vehicles will also be essential. To provide that knowledge, SDVs will need 5G communications capabilities, and an environment with 100% reliable access to a 5G network. This capability will allow all SDVs in an area to benefit from knowledge acquired by other vehicles, giving each vehicle great advantages over human drivers in terms of an understanding of traffic flow, accidents, construction changes and sudden, unpredictable events such as ambulance or police movements. Such a combination advances and advantages should lead not only to safer transportation, but also to development of new services not yet foreseen. Examples: City-owned electric SDVs operating under a central computer system could wait patiently near residences all night, near workplaces in the afternoon and downtown in the evening, summoned via a tap on a smartphone. The system would learn the City's needs, adapting to weather, special events, growth and population redistribution. These same eSDVs could quickly ferry people to self-driving van centers for travel to Denver at toll road speed, and could provide quick and convenient transportation for the elderly or the disadvantaged. They might even eventually replace the school bus. If Fort Collins carefully expands its broadband fiber system to develop 5G, as the new cell standard and associated gadgetry emerge during the next few years, and if the City enthusiastically encourages SDV development (and, yes, some carefully and transparently regulated on-road experimentation), we can invite both new and existing companies to develop their systems here. This could lead not only to a self driving Center of Excellence in Fort Collins, but also to construction of manufacturing facilities for SDVs to potentially be sold around the world. The undeveloped land area and reliable, ever-cleaner power in our region should be attractive to companies seeking to build large facilities. Given its foresight in creating the new fiber network, Fort Collins can now choose to be a leading edge in the development of SDVs and their supporting technologies including artificial intelligence, ultra-high-performance sensors, the accumulation of knowledge and self-driving experience, and construction of the vehicles themselves. With Connexion, our community has demonstrated a desire and ability to think and act outside the box. Development of 5G communications is the next step toward taking full advantage of that unusual ability. -Dr. Robert Meyer

    robertmeyer asked 6 months ago

    Dr. Meyer,

    Thank you for your feedback.  Fort Collins Connexion will truly future proof our city and the opportunity for Smart City adoption (IT automation, machine learning and the internet of things) is unlimited.  A very exciting time for the City of Fort Collins.

  • Will there be data caps or limits in place that will trigger throttling?

    tmiles1999 asked 6 months ago

    No data caps!  That's right! No data caps!  In addition, Fort Collins Connexion is a big proponent of Net Neutrality and we will not conduct any activity that would intentionally block, slow down or impact your internet usage.  You can read more about our stance here

  • Will my personal owned Comcast compatible modem be compatible with this system?

    Terry asked 7 months ago

    You may be able to connect the device using a CAT5 cable, but there is some uncertainty around accessibility given it is a Comcast device and we're not clear if there is anything locked down once your service has been canceled.

  • when will the city actually be ready for install of new customers?

    urban asked 7 months ago

    First service will be available August 2019. 

  • Again to avoid ambiguity: You stare that pricing will be competitive with Comcast and Century Link. But Comcast does not offer symmetrical gigabit to the home. You need to clarify the service level that will be provided at this competitive price. If gigabit symmetrical (1000/1000) to the home is the same price as 120/6 from Comcast, there a reason to switch. If you are offering 120/6 at the same price, there is no reason to switch. Could you clarify the service levels that will be offered? We went in to this based on the idea that we would be able to get symmetrical gigabit at a similar price to Comcast's current offerings (in the $50 - $100 range).

    Adiastra asked 8 months ago

    Thank you for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion.  The Connexion team is still finalizing the product catalog and will make that available to the public closer to launch time. This will include service levels, pricing, and packages.  All internet speeds will be symmetrical and we will not require a contract for service. 

  • The reason I was upset with Century Link is that they went from 24.00/ month to 40.00/month for 12 mbps service (so they wouldn't have to offer promotions they said), never had a customer service issue. So why is 70.00/ month a good deal. I understand you need to pay for the debt (bonds), but if it only took 2-3 years in Georgia to pay off their costs. In 2-3 years are you going to lower the price? I just can't see myself paying 70.00/month for a service that I already had for 24.mo and now 40/month. Other than customer service, is there a reason--since the same fiber optics your using has been running through my yard for years+. Thanks

    mcgrewat asked 7 months ago

    Thank you for your question. The City recognizes and appreciates your right to choose a service provider. The Fort Collins Connexion team is currently finalizing the product catalog and pricing for services. In addition to world-class customer service, Fort Collins Connexion will be offering 1 gig, symmetrical speed internet, which is about 80 times faster than 12mbps!  Our state-of-the-art fiber-optic network will be built out to the entire City limits, unlike Centurylink and Comcast which are limited in their coverage and speeds.  We will have competitive pricing and different speed options available to choose from for residents and businesses, along with phone and video services.  


  • Hi everyone. Will connexion be using ipv6, will static addresses be available, will sfp+/LC connections to the demarc be supported, and what kind of route propogation should we prepare for (i.e. - RIP, BGP, etc)

    kbaegis asked 7 months ago

    Thank you for your interest in Connexion! Our network will be dual-stack IPv4/IPv6 enabled. Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) will be the default, but static IP addresses will be available. The standard demarcation for customer equipment will be via RJ-45 (CAT 5/6) ports off of the Optical Network Terminal (ONT).  For most customers, the network will handle route propagation, however BGP will be available as a service.


  • Dear Staff: When will Broadband be available in the Campus West area? Thank you for your time!

    CATS_IN_THE_CRADLE asked 8 months ago

    Thank you for your question. Connexion crews and City-approved contractors are working in various locations across the city to install our fiber-optic network as quickly and efficiently as possible. While currently there is no confirmed date/time for Campus West, our first lit service is scheduled for August 2019 and we will be ramping up turning on service from there.   

  • Currently I need a router to get WiFi in my residence, will we need a router for Connexion. If so, will the city provide one or have a listing of recommended routers to purchase?

    mb asked 8 months ago

    With Fort Collins Collins Connexion you will have the option to use one we provide or you can use your own!  

  • What areas of Fort Collins will first have access to the new system? Will there be a progressive service activation moving from one area to another, and if so, what areas will have access at what times?

    mlwilkey asked 8 months ago

    The Fort Collins Connexion Team has not yet made a final determination regarding what areas of the city will have access first. Our goal will be to get the most people on the network as quickly and efficiently as possible. We will be activating neighborhoods in various locations across the city in a controlled progression to ensure we are able to meet demand while providing exceptional customer service.

  • You answered a previous question regarding the price point of 70 dollars by saying "Our products will be competitively priced against what current incumbents are charging for both residential and business services." Please define 'incumbent' as this seems a bit ambiguous. Connexion is a public utility not a private company so pricing should be based on other public offerings not commercial competitors.

    Adiastra asked 8 months ago

    You are correct that Fort Collins Connexion is a municipal utility and not a private entity.  However, Connexion is not funded by taxpayer dollars--our financing is through the bonds that were issued back in June of 2018. Broadband must be priced appropriately in order to pay back the $142.2MM in bonds. Our products and services will be priced competitively against the local incumbents, Comcast and Centurylink, to ensure residents and businesses within Fort Collins have an alternative option for reliable and affordable broadband services. 

  • Similar to NextLight in Longmont, does Fort Collins Connexion intend to provide discounted prices for Charter Members? I think discounted pricing that would attract a lot of residential customers, especially who are currently under contract.

    kandlikar asked 8 months ago

    While nothing has been finalized, at this time the Fort Collins Connexion team is not planning on offering Charter Memberships.  Our goal is to provide upfront, easy to understand, competitive pricing for our products and services. 

  • How are you documenting your fiber network? Is this through Excel spreadsheets or through software? What software?

    AJH asked 8 months ago

    Our fiber network is being managed through ArcFM Fiber Manager.

  • Is there any current play to install antenna around the city to allow for Connexion customers to access high speed WiFi around town?

    Adiastra asked 9 months ago

    There is no immediate plan for WiFi access at our launch in August 2019, but WiFi access is still under consideration for future implementation.  

  • The current business plan lists residential service for 1Gbps/1Gbps at $70. The nearest equivalent of a business service, 1Gbps/500Mbps, is listed at almost 10X this price - $600. What is the service offering difference here which justifies such a dramatic increase in cost for pushing the same number of bits over the same connection with the same 99.9925% uptime at the same latency?

    ted_johnson2 asked 9 months ago

    Thank you for your question.  The Fort Collins Connexion team is currently finalizing the product catalog including pricing which may differ from the original business plan.  Our products will be competitively priced against what current incumbents are charging for both residential and business services.  

  • Is there an update on this question? What does the connection to a home look like?

    dougbaker asked 9 months ago

    For connectivity to the home, we will be installing a network interface device (NID; also known by several other names) to the outside of the property. This device (a panel or box) serves as the demarcation point between our fiber network and the customer's premises wiring. 

  • have you identified 2 backbone providers? just curious who will handle packets after they leave\arrive FC system?

    dougbaker asked 9 months ago

    We are in the middle of an RFP process for those providers. We are looking at two Tier 1 providers who are geographically diverse.  Once these providers have been determined we will not be disclosing them do to security purposes.  

  • Hi - do you have a cost model available to look at that includes things like how many subscribers you need to have in order to break even on the costs (as well as how much the consumer will be charged for the service)? Also interested in your projected annual operating costs as well. Understanding you will still be competing with other carriers, assuming the goal is that you will be able to deliver higher speeds at less of a cost, Comcast, CenturyLink and others are big players to compete with. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!

    just interested asked 10 months ago

    Thank you for contacting Fort Collins Connexion.  Our business plan, which is listed publically online at fcgov.com/broadband, provides a wealth of information pertaining to the municipal broadband program. You can find the document here.


  • Will the city broadband be extended to Laporte area?

    Lindylou asked 10 months ago

    Thank you for your question. The Fort Collins Connexion network will be built out to cover all residences and businesses within the city limits of Fort Collins.  

  • My residence is just on the edge of City limits up north on Terry lake road. (Hwy 1) Will our address be part of this internet initiative?

    Leahp asked 10 months ago

    Thank you for contacting the City of Fort Collins Connexion team. If your property is considered within city limits it will be part of the broadband initiative.  

  • What is the time frame for areas in the GMA to be annexed and what other factors are considered when annexing?

    Leahp asked 10 months ago

    Every community has processes and planning tools to manage how they grow. Growth Management Areas (GMA’s) are one such tool. They are plans where a community sets its growth boundaries. They are developed with public input from citizens and coordination with nearby communities. GMA’s help a community ensure that new residents will have the services they need while also protecting the quality of life and services for those who already live there.  

    There is no set time frame for areas in the Fort Collins GMA to be annexed. If City council receives a petition to annex a specific area, the City would embark on a community engagement strategy to seek input from property and business owners and other stakeholders. Planning for annexation could potentially take years of intense study, including fiscal and capital cost estimates. Additional factors to be considered would include timing, social impact, cost of providing police services, utilities, and storm drain management.  

  • Estimate of residential cost for basic service

    dw2209 asked 10 months ago

    Thank you for your inquiry. At this time the Fort Collins Connexion team is still finalizing our product catalog.  However, we will have a variety of internet service levels with very competitive prices to meet our customers needs and budgets. We look forward to sharing more information as it becomes available.  



  • How will the fiber enter existing homes? Are you coming in via the sewer pipe or by other means?

    jdbenz asked 10 months ago

    Thank you for your interest in Fort Collins Connexion!  The fiber optic cable that is being built out throughout the City will run through existing or available electrical conduit that the City is already using for Light & Power. Once the conduit and vaults are built, the fiber is pulled through and terminated at a pedestal. This is an easy access point for crews to reach the fiber cables. When you sign up for broadband service, pre-installation work will include running fiber from the pedestal to another vault called a "flower pot", and then directly to your home using a microduct. The fiber will be connected to your home using a TAP (Terminal Access Point) Box.  Once terminated at the TAP, it will be ready to be connected from inside your home during your install.  

  • I currently get internet, tv, and phone services as a bundle from a single provider. Supposedly, each service's cost individually is lower with the bundle than if bought separately. Will I be able to get all three services in a bundle with a Connexion contract?

    Qurlyjoe asked 11 months ago

    Absolutely.  Fort Collins Connexion will be offering high-speed internet, video and telephone services individually as well as a bundled service. Keep in mind that for residential services, we will not require a contract!  

  • How would a person go about applying for Fort Collins Connexion?

    jlawrence asked 11 months ago

    Residents interested in signing up for Fort Collins Connexion services will have the option to order online or call in and speak with a customer service representative directly.  

  • Without holding to a specific timeline, is it possible to get a road map (pun intended) of the roll out. It sould be nice to know the order in which backbones will be laid and connected. I am SURE you have a project roll out map. Please share.

    Adiastra asked 11 months ago

    Thank you for contacting us about the Fort Collins Connexion Broadband roll out.  To give you a quick update--construction began on Nov 15 with Connexion crews, in partnership with City Light & Power and our third party contractor, AEG, working on the initial fiber pull for our core ring. The ring is essentially the backbone of our network and we will be building out from there. We will begin the full network construction in January 2019 and will be building out in a rolling fashion across the city—so different areas will be built out at the same time. Unfortunately at this time we are not able to provide more details, but rest assured we are still on target for our first lit service to be in Q3 2019. 

  • I haven't heard any updated on broadband progress since last spring. Can you give us an update of the progress? I fully support the broadband initiative and am excited about signing up. But considering we voted to borrow a lot of money to fund this utility, I think we are owed an update at least monthly.

    jond asked 12 months ago

    The Fort Collins Connexion team has been working extremely hard on the strategy, design, planning and development of our new state-of-the-art fiber network.  While we would love to provide monthly updates, our goal is to provide timely, relevant information as details become available.  We appreciate your interest and thank you for your support.  

  • Considering how expensive this project is I wish the city would provide more updates on the progress of the project. Maybe a weekly or biweekly newsletter? It seems like we go months without hearing anything.

    jond asked about 1 year ago

    Thank you for contacting us about updates. The Fort Collins Connexion team has been hard at work with the planning, design and development of our new fiber network.  We have set out press releases announcing the hiring of the core team, as we all the partnership with Open International, who will be handling our new Utilities & Broadband Customer Information System (CIS/OSS).  Additionally, we provided an update to City Council back in August in a work session which you can access here.  

    We will be actively providing more timely updates as details become available.  

  • Are you hiring yet?

    JasperCO asked over 1 year ago

    Thanks for your interest in our broadband project. At this time Connexion, the City’s broadband team, is not hiring. However, please keep an eye on this page - https://www.fcgov.com/jobs/ - for future job opportunities as our broadband team grows.

  • I haven't see a coverage map. In particular, I'm looking for how far out will the coverage beon Bingham Hill Road.

    cochapman asked over 1 year ago

    Under the current business plan broadband would extend throughout the current City limits and will extend into the GMA when those areas are annexed. Current capital spending estimates are for the City limits only.

  • i would like to purchase some bonds. Do I need to set up an account with one of the securities companies mentioned in the Coloradoan article (Bank of American Merrill Lynch, Royal Bank of Canada or Stifel) or If I need one, can I use an investment company I already use?

    ApplesRus asked over 1 year ago

    We just posted information on bonds to be issued. For those interested in purchasing bonds, more information can be found here: https://ourcity.fcgov.com/1372/documents/1847 

  • I live over here a Red Tails Pond, right by the South Transit Center? Well I have been wondering for some time? Well it be offered here for all of us to use? And how? Would the city be contacting Housing Cataylist?

    nealmoody asked almost 2 years ago

    While Red Tail Ponds is in our Growth Management Area (GMA) and is slated to get service, at this time the details of how it will be provided are still in the works. As we begin build out of the network more of those details will be available.


  • where can I buy the municipal bonds for the cities broadband project?

    George Brelig asked over 1 year ago

    We’re glad that you are interested in supporting our broadband project by purchasing bonds. While the bonds are not for sale right now, we do plan to offer $1,000 bonds for the general public to purchase. We intend to give priority to Front Range zip codes. We’ve selected three underwriters to jointly manage the bond pricing and distribution. We are still working with the underwriters on these bonds. Once they are ready for purchase we will release that information on https://ourcity.fcgov.com/citybroadband


  • Why dont you allow a different color pin for people to show where they will definitely NOT be using this service. I own part of a 120 unit apartment and we have a contract with Comcast and will not ever use city broadband.

    rufcgov asked almost 2 years ago

    The City appreciates and recognizes your right to choose a service provider. The intent of this map is to allow people who may be interested to express that interest.


  • How can I purchase bonds when they become available?

    Joho7218 asked almost 2 years ago

    The City is currently in the process of contracting with underwriters who will be responsible for marketing and selling the bonds through their retail and institutional channels.  Exactly how this will occur will be determined after we formalize a contract. As we contract with an underwriter, more specifics on how the bonds will become available to the public will be determined.

    The City did note an interest in evaluating the ability to do a small portion of the bond offering in non-traditional denominations, sometimes called Mini Bonds that could be available to local and regional citizens who wish to support the community and this effort. How these type bonds are marketed and made available to the local public will be determined in late February.

    Please check back for details.


  • I live here at Red Tails Pond apartments over here by the South Transit Center? How would this work for that place? Would it be installed for all of us to use? Well the city be talking to Housing Cataylist to offer it?

    neal moody asked almost 2 years ago

    Like other internet providers, the City will have marketing and sign-up information widely available.  The decision-maker at Redtail Ponds or Housing Catalyst would be able to select the City as a provider if they chose.


  • What about net neutrality?

    almost 2 years ago

    The City of Fort Collins is committed to the principles of Net Neutrality. The City Broadband Plan does not call for any restrictions on access including uploads, downloads, delivery methods or providers (email, Skype, Netflix, etc.) For more detail on Net Neutrality see page 48 of the Broadband Business Plan.
     
    Net Neutrality, or Open Internet, means there are no restrictions of any kind on access to content on the Web, no limit on downloads and uploads, or no restrictions on delivery methods or providers. The key principle is that access to the internet is not blocked, slowed down, or sped up depending on who or where that access occurs. In essence, Net Neutrality means the internet is open to everyone. Council will be developing policies around net neutrality and privacy, as the project develops.

    As a current Utility provider, the City takes privacy very seriously and this commitment would be practiced with broadband. Private, or personal information, includes names, addresses, phone number, emails as well as browsing and internet history and usage, email and phone records, and other generated electronic data. The City will not collect any of this information beyond what is required to provide service.


  • Is there anything that we, the citizens of Fort Collins, can do to help speed up planning, implementation, or build out of this system? I.e. if we collected a "critical mass" of subscribers in a particular neighborhood, or put up a certain amount of earnest money, could we get ourselves on a priority list to be early adopters or higher on the built out list? I am so fed up with my incumbent provider (rhymes with "Rinky Dink") - this can't come soon enough. Thanks!

    dgstangel asked almost 2 years ago

    Thank you for your support of this project!  To date, the City has not considered “expression of interest” campaigns for the implementation and rollout of the fiber network. The City will work to complete the system in the most efficient way possible utilizing existing fiber, leveraging installation opportunities and ensuring city-wide coverage. Full build-out of the network to the entire city is expected to take 3-4 years, we recommend taking this into consideration when signing current or future contracts.

  • How will the map pins be used going forward? Is it a preliminary Expression of Interest (EoI)?

    Colin Garfield asked almost 2 years ago

    The map is not intended to be a formal expression of interest and will not be used to determine roll out.  It is intended to keep the community engaged as we start this process.

  • First off thank you so much for implementing this project; this is exciting and shows how forward thinking Fort Collins is. I am proud to live her. We live within the growth management area but outside of city limits. Do you have a specific plan for rollout? Will GMA residents receive this service first or last, or somewhere in between?

    lukeday99 asked over 1 year ago

    Thanks for following our project. Our plan calls for building and implementing high-speed next-generation broadband to the entire growth management area (GMA) throughout the next 3 to 4 years as land is annexed. The exact timing of where the roll out will take place has not been decided at this time.


  • How can I join your team? I’ve always wanted to be part of an ISP or broadband rollout. Are there job listings anywhere or someone I would contact?

    Whoopn asked over 1 year ago

    We are currently hiring for key positions related to broadband. For more information, and to apply, you can visit our jobs page. 

  • Will all utility customers have to pay for the broadband service even if we don't individually use it? By "pay," I mean either through direct billing or through indirect related costs, such as paying back the bonds that are funding this project?

    BruceB asked over 1 year ago

    The broadband utility will operate just like the other municipal utility. It will generate adequate, but not excessive, revenues to meet the anticipated costs of its construction and operation without relying on the other municipal utilities or the City’s General Fund.

    To begin, revenues will come through issuance of bonds As customers are added, all revenues will come from broadband customers. These revenues will meet the ongoing operational and capital needs of the broadband utility as well as provide adequate funds to meet the debt service of the issued bonds.

  • Are "Unincorporated" parts of the city included in the Growth Management Area (specifically Countryside Park--Timberline/Mulberry/Summitview)? Thank you for your time.

    jcromley asked almost 2 years ago

    Countryside Drive, S. Timberline Road, E. Mulberry Street and Summitview are included in the City’s Growth Management Area (GMA), which is included as part of the broadband buildout once the land is annexed. 


  • Is the Eagle Ranch Estates area included in the GMA? Thank you in advance.

    Ikster asked over 1 year ago

    It appears, in looking at the map, that Eagle Ranch is not included in the Fort Collins GMA. Thank you for your interest in our project. 


  • so how do I activate the pinpoint function of the interactive map?

    sid sprecher asked almost 2 years ago

    To use a pin function on the Places Map click and drag a "My Home" or "My Work" pin from the box on the left side of the screen to where you want to see fiber on the map. 

  • Will Terry Lake have service?

    MDenney asked almost 2 years ago

    The Broadband Plan calls for service throughout the growth management area. Terry Lake is currently outside the City limits but it is within the growth management area. Full build out of a fiber system is estimated to take 4-5 years.

  • I'm so confused about all the different types of technology coming on board. I assume that if we sign up for the city's broadband service that a dedicated fiber optic cable will be run to our house just as is currently done with existing providers. Will the city's broadband interact with wireless 5G in any way? Or is that a totally different technology? And will I be able to keep my landline?

    neebiz asked almost 2 years ago

    We recognize there’s a lot of technology available to consumers today and a variety of ways to access the internet. 

    The City’s broadband plan calls for dedicated fiber-optic cables to each premise that signs up for service. Fiber is different from 5G, or fifth-generation mobile networks, in that fiber uses cables to connect to the internet. 5G is a type of wireless service used to assess the internet. 5G antennas will require fiber optic support at the antenna. 

    It is our understanding the technical standards for 5G will not be established until roughly 2020 and the service will not be available until mid-2020’s.  The City will continue to evaluate new technology as it becomes available and options for voice or video.


  • What does the connection to a home look like? Will a fiber optic cable enter the home and then connect to a fiber optic modem to provide the broadband connection? Would the customer supply the fiber optic modem and be responsible for its operation and maintenance? The FMC-1000S-SM10 Gigabit Ethernet 1000Base-LX singlemode fiber media converter which lists at $77 would be an example of such a modem.

    aoe80525 asked almost 2 years ago

    Design and hookups for the project have not been determined yet. The request for proposal (RFP) for network design is going on now. The process will fit with the general aesthetics and follow industry standards.


  • Will FTC Broadband be available outside the city limits, in particular, along Hollywood and Sunset North and South of La Porte street?

    GeorgeW asked almost 2 years ago

    Hollywood and Sunset North and South of Laporte Avenue are included in the City’s Growth Management Area (GMA), which is included as part of the broadband buildout once the land is annexed.